2022 Leadership Group

2022 Leadership Group

Dean Siakoulis addressed the playing group last night to announce that after eight years, he has decided to pass on the leadership reins and step aside as senior captain.

Dean came into the role very young and has handled the responsibilities of captaincy superbly during a period of great transition at the club. While the role and responsibilities can weigh heavily, Dean has at no stage allowed his personal standards to slip – as proven by his incredible run of six senior best and fairest awards during this period.

“It’s been an absolute honour to captain this great club and a privilege leading the boys out every Saturday,” said Dean. “After 8 years it’s time pass it on.”

Don’t expect much to change, of course… Dean will continue to be a leader on and off the field and guide our young squad as it develops.


It’s our pleasure to announce that Dean is passing the senior captaincy onto good mate and vice-captain Sam Kassianou.

Sam joined Mulgrave as an Under 18 in 2010 after playing his junior football at Glen Waverley Rovers and Waverley Park Hawks. He’s gone on to play well over 100 senior games and has earned the respect and admiration of all at Mulgrave, both on and off the field.

“It’s just an incredible honour and not something I take lightly,” said Sam.

“It’s a club filled with huge history and we hope to do it proud. I know I’ve got big shoes to fill with the legacy Dean has left but I can’t wait to lead the boys out on Saturday.”

Sam will be supported by a three-man senior leadership group. Jaxon Gervasoni and Tom Gladman remain from last season, while reigning best and fairest Connor Tilyard has been elevated to the leadership group.

Ben Simpson has been selected to captain the reserves, with Ned Rowland as Vice Captain.

Finally, Fletcher Wyllie will captain the Under 19s this season.

Please join us in thanking Dean for his tremendous service as senior captain, and congratulating Sam, Jaxon, Tom, Connor, Ben, Ned and Fletcher on their leadership roles in 2022.